PT software UK: what to look for
- Getting paid into a UK bank account. Most of these tools use Stripe. Stripe lists 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards (stripe.com/gb/pricing, checked 2 October 2026), and that applies on top of any fee from the software.
- Pricing in pounds. On the pages we checked, Trainerize, My PT Hub, PT Distinction, TrueCoach and Everfit list prices in US dollars (Everfit lists its UK card processing rates in pounds). Check the currency on your own invoice.
- A free way to start. Some have a free plan, some only a trial. Trials end, so check what happens afterwards.
- Native apps or web app. Some clients want an app in the App Store. FitDesk is a web app today, with a native app not yet available.
- Fees on payments. A monthly fee, a percentage on each card payment, or both.
- Cash payments. Many UK PTs still take some sessions in cash. Ask whether recording them costs anything.
Comparison at a glance
| Feature | Free option | Paid plans from (USD a month on monthly billing, as listed) | Card payments | Native apps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FitDesk | No monthly fee, no client cap | None | No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee. | Not yet. Web app works in any mobile browser |
| Foundations | No monthly fees, unlimited clients. UK based trainers only, per its page | None listed | 0.7% on payments collected through Foundations. Stripe card fees also apply | Not stated on its home page |
| FitPros.io | Free plan, unlimited clients | Pro Tools $39 a month on monthly billing ($29 on annual billing) | Not stated for the free plan. Pro Tools lists selling programs with 0% commission | Installs to the home screen from the web, per its site |
| Trainerize | Free plan, 1 client. 30 day trial | $10 a month on monthly billing ($9 on annual billing), Grow, 2 clients | Stripe Integrated Payments add on, $10 a month | Yes |
| My PT Hub | 30 day trial, then a Free plan (limits not shown) | $25 a month (Starter, 3 clients), flexible monthly billing | Via Stripe, listed on plans. No fee stated | Custom branded iOS and Android app, $95 one time add on. Separate app store listing $145 a month. Base plan client app not stated |
| PT Distinction | 1 month trial, no free plan | $19.90 a month (3 clients), monthly price as listed | "Sell packages and take payments" listed. No fee stated | Yes, iOS and Android |
| TrueCoach | 14 day trial, no free plan | $29.98 a month on monthly billing ($26.34 on annual billing), 5 active clients | Free automated payments via Stripe. No extra fees per its page | Yes |
| Everfit | Free plan, 5 clients. Free trial on paid plans | $19 a month on monthly billing ($16 on annual billing), Pro, 5 clients | Payments and Packages add on, $9 a month, plus processing fees | Yes, including free plan |
FitDesk
- Free option
- No monthly fee, no client cap
- Paid plans from (USD a month on monthly billing, as listed)
- None
- Card payments
- No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee.
- Native apps
- Not yet. Web app works in any mobile browser
Foundations
- Free option
- No monthly fees, unlimited clients. UK based trainers only, per its page
- Paid plans from (USD a month on monthly billing, as listed)
- None listed
- Card payments
- 0.7% on payments collected through Foundations. Stripe card fees also apply
- Native apps
- Not stated on its home page
FitPros.io
- Free option
- Free plan, unlimited clients
- Paid plans from (USD a month on monthly billing, as listed)
- Pro Tools $39 a month on monthly billing ($29 on annual billing)
- Card payments
- Not stated for the free plan. Pro Tools lists selling programs with 0% commission
- Native apps
- Installs to the home screen from the web, per its site
Trainerize
- Free option
- Free plan, 1 client. 30 day trial
- Paid plans from (USD a month on monthly billing, as listed)
- $10 a month on monthly billing ($9 on annual billing), Grow, 2 clients
- Card payments
- Stripe Integrated Payments add on, $10 a month
- Native apps
- Yes
My PT Hub
- Free option
- 30 day trial, then a Free plan (limits not shown)
- Paid plans from (USD a month on monthly billing, as listed)
- $25 a month (Starter, 3 clients), flexible monthly billing
- Card payments
- Via Stripe, listed on plans. No fee stated
- Native apps
- Custom branded iOS and Android app, $95 one time add on. Separate app store listing $145 a month. Base plan client app not stated
PT Distinction
- Free option
- 1 month trial, no free plan
- Paid plans from (USD a month on monthly billing, as listed)
- $19.90 a month (3 clients), monthly price as listed
- Card payments
- "Sell packages and take payments" listed. No fee stated
- Native apps
- Yes, iOS and Android
TrueCoach
- Free option
- 14 day trial, no free plan
- Paid plans from (USD a month on monthly billing, as listed)
- $29.98 a month on monthly billing ($26.34 on annual billing), 5 active clients
- Card payments
- Free automated payments via Stripe. No extra fees per its page
- Native apps
- Yes
Everfit
- Free option
- Free plan, 5 clients. Free trial on paid plans
- Paid plans from (USD a month on monthly billing, as listed)
- $19 a month on monthly billing ($16 on annual billing), Pro, 5 clients
- Card payments
- Payments and Packages add on, $9 a month, plus processing fees
- Native apps
- Yes, including free plan
Sources, checked 29 September 2026 (My PT Hub on 16 October 2026): usefoundations.app, fitpros.io, trainerize.com/pricing, mypthub.net/pricing, ptdistinction.com/pricing, truecoach.co/pricing, everfit.io/pricing and help.everfit.io (payment fees). Plans change often, so check each site before you decide. FitDesk is not affiliated with any product listed. "Not stated" means we could not find it on the page we read, not that it does not exist.
The options in more detail
FitDesk: no monthly fee, with bookings, packages and payments
FitDesk has no monthly fee and no client cap. It covers online booking, session packages with credits that are used as sessions are booked, workout programming, progress tracking, messaging and Stripe card payments into your own account. No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee. It is a web app today. Suits: independent UK PTs and small studios who do not need a native app yet. See also: Trainerize alternative, My PT Hub alternative.
Foundations: session tracking and payments, no monthly fee
Foundations' home page describes session tracking against blocks, invoices paid online through Stripe, unlimited clients and no monthly fees. It says it takes 0.7% on payments collected through Foundations (Stripe card fees also apply), which is the same percentage FitDesk charges. Its page says it is currently available to UK based personal trainers. Suits: PTs who mainly sell blocks of sessions and want a lightweight tool. Check its site for features such as workout programming.
FitPros.io: a free coaching platform
FitPros.io describes itself as free for personal trainers, with unlimited clients, programs, exercises, habits, forms and a website builder, and a Pro tier for more features. Suits: coaches who mainly want programming and content tools for free. We did not find payment fees stated for its free plan; its Pro Tools tier lists selling programs with 0% commission.
Trainerize: native apps and a big add on menu
Trainerize lists a permanent free plan for one client and paid plans that scale to hundreds of clients, with add ons for nutrition, video coaching, payments and business tools, and three levels of branded app. It announced pricing updates from 16 March 2026. Suits: trainers who want native apps now or plan a larger coaching business. Full comparison: Trainerize alternative.
My PT Hub: a long feature list with a 30 day trial
My PT Hub lists plans from $25 a month, a 30 day free trial with no card, an AI workout builder, group bookings and classes on higher plans, and paid extras such as a $95 branded app and Zapier. Suits: trainers who want a long list of coaching tools and are happy to pay monthly. Full comparison: My PT Hub alternative.
PT Distinction: the same core features on every plan
PT Distinction lists the same core features on every plan, from $19.90 a month for 3 clients, with a 1 month free trial and custom branded apps on higher plans. Suits: trainers who want native apps, scheduled SMS and automation. Full comparison: PT Distinction alternative.
TrueCoach: programming and tracking for online coaching
TrueCoach lists plans from $29.98 a month on monthly billing ($26.34 on annual billing) for up to 5 active clients, a 14 day trial, free automated payments through Stripe, wearables and Zapier on higher plans. Suits: coaches who work mainly online. Full comparison: TrueCoach alternative.
Everfit: a free plan for 5 clients and many extras
Everfit lists a free plan for up to 5 clients, paid plans from $19 a month on monthly billing ($16 on annual billing), and a separate $9 a month Payments and Packages add on. Suits: online coaches who want native apps and coaching extras, or a bigger scaling business. Full comparison: Everfit alternative.
How to choose in ten minutes
- Count your clients. A free plan capped at 1 or 5 clients may run out quickly if you already have more clients. Plans priced by client count grow with you.
- Decide on a native app. If your clients insist on an App Store app today, filter to the options that have one.
- Add up payments. Work out your monthly card takings and your cash share. A percentage fee, a flat add on and Stripe's own fees all behave differently.
- Try two for two weeks. Run three real clients through each and see which removes admin instead of adding it.
- Check the exit. Look at the cancel terms and whether you can export your client list.
Frequently asked questions
Do personal trainers need to register for VAT?
How do I choose personal trainer software in the UK?
Is there personal trainer software with no monthly fee?
How much does personal trainer software cost?
Do personal trainers pay fees on card payments?
Do I need a native app for my clients?
How do I switch personal trainer software without losing clients?
Which PT software works in pounds?
Create your FitDesk account
No card. No client cap.
Create your FitDesk account