Compare

PT Distinction alternative for UK personal trainers

Last updated: . Competitor prices were checked on 29 September 2026. Sources are listed under the table.

PT Distinction is a coaching platform for personal trainers that lists the same core features on every plan, and it may be a strong fit for you. This page compares it with FitDesk, a platform for personal trainers with no monthly fee, so you can pick with the facts in front of you.

Short answer. No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee. PT Distinction has no free plan and starts at $19.90 a month for 3 clients. Create your FitDesk account.

PT Distinction and FitDesk at a glance

  • Free option

    FitDesk
    No monthly fee, no client cap
    PT Distinction
    No free plan. 1 month free trial, cancel any time in the first month
  • Paid plans

    FitDesk
    No monthly plans
    PT Distinction
    Basic $19.90 a month (3 clients). Pro $59.90 (25 clients). Master $89.90 (50 clients)
  • Client limit

    FitDesk
    No cap
    PT Distinction
    Extra clients are free for the first month, then $6.00 a month each on Basic, $2.40 on Pro and $1.60 on Master
  • Card payments

    FitDesk
    No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee.
    PT Distinction
    "Sell packages and take payments" is listed on every plan. Its pricing page does not state a payment fee
  • Cash payments

    FitDesk
    Recorded in the app, no FitDesk fee
    PT Distinction
    Not stated on the pricing page
  • Branded app

    FitDesk
    Your logo and colours inside FitDesk. No app store listing under your own name today
    PT Distinction
    Your own custom branded iOS and Android apps on Pro and Master. Basic has iOS and Android apps without custom branding
  • AI

    FitDesk
    AI assistant included
    PT Distinction
    AI Program Builder, AI Assistant and AI Meal Planner listed on every plan
  • Native mobile app

    FitDesk
    Not available yet. FitDesk is a web app that works in any mobile browser
    PT Distinction
    iOS and Android apps on every plan

Source: ptdistinction.com/pricing, checked 29 September 2026, prices in US dollars as listed. Plans and offers change often, so check their site before you decide. FitDesk is not affiliated with PT Distinction. Stripe's own fees still apply to card payments on every platform.

What PT Distinction does well

  • The same core features on every plan. Its page lists group training, in app messaging, scheduled email and SMS, automated workflows, habits, assessments, client exercise technique reviews, integrations and pre made templates on all plans, with "no hidden fees, no extra costs".
  • AI tools included. An AI program builder, AI assistant and AI meal planner are part of the listed features.
  • Native apps and custom branded apps. iOS and Android apps come with every plan, and custom branded apps with Pro and Master.

If you want scheduled SMS, automated workflows or custom branded native apps, PT Distinction is worth a trial.

Where FitDesk is different

1. No monthly fee and no client limit. PT Distinction plans include 3, 25 or 50 clients before per client charges start. FitDesk has no plans and no cap, so growing your client list does not change what you pay.

2. No monthly fee to start. There is no free plan on PT Distinction, and its trial runs for one month. FitDesk needs no card to sign up.

3. Card and cash fees. No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee.

4. Payments to your own account. You connect your own Stripe account, so card payments settle into your bank account, and you set prices in pounds.

PT Distinction pricing in 2026

Prices as listed by PT Distinction on 29 September 2026, in US dollars and shown as monthly prices, before any payment fees. Extra clients are charged per client after the included number, so the 3, 25 and 50 client figures are not caps:

  • 3 clients: Basic, $19.90 a month.
  • 25 clients: Pro, $59.90 a month.
  • 50 clients: Master, $89.90 a month.

No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee.

Who should pick which

FitDesk may suit you if you are an independent PT who wants bookings, packages, payments and tracking in one place without a monthly bill, and a web app is enough for now.

PT Distinction may suit you if you want native apps for your clients today, scheduled SMS, automated workflows or custom branded apps, and you are happy to pay a monthly plan.

Try both. PT Distinction has a 1 month trial and FitDesk needs no card. Put three real clients through each for two weeks.

How to switch from PT Distinction to FitDesk

  1. Create your free account. Set up your trainer account. No card needed.
  2. Set your availability. Add your working hours and session types so clients can book.
  3. Connect Stripe. Connect your own Stripe account so card payments go to your bank.
  4. Bring your clients over. Import your client list from a CSV file or paste it in, then invite clients by email or with a share link. They keep training while you switch.
  5. Rebuild your plans. Set up templates once and assign them in two clicks.

Check your PT Distinction subscription page for how to cancel, and keep it until you are happy.

Other PT Distinction alternatives

TrueCoach alternative

Everfit alternative

Trainerize alternative

My PT Hub alternative

PT software UK compared

Frequently asked questions

Is FitDesk a good alternative to PT Distinction?

FitDesk suits independent trainers who want bookings, workout programming, progress tracking, messaging and card payments without a monthly subscription. PT Distinction is ahead on native iOS and Android apps, scheduled SMS and automated workflows, so pick based on whether you need those features today.

How much does FitDesk cost compared with PT Distinction?

No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee. PT Distinction lists plans from $19.90 a month for 3 clients (checked 29 September 2026).

Does PT Distinction have a free plan?

No. Its pricing page lists a 1 month free trial and says you can cancel in that month and pay nothing, then plans from $19.90 a month for 3 clients. Extra clients are free for the first month and are charged per client after that, as listed on its pricing page.

Are all PT Distinction features included in every plan?

Its pricing page says features come included in its packages, with no hidden fees and no extra costs, and lists the same features on each plan. Custom branded apps are listed on Pro and Master. Check the page for the current list, because plans change.

Can clients use FitDesk on their phones?

Yes, in any mobile browser on iOS or Android, with no download. A native FitDesk app for the App Store and Google Play is not available yet. PT Distinction lists iOS and Android apps on every plan, so choose it if native apps matter to you today.

Do my clients pay to use FitDesk?

Client accounts are free. Clients only pay you for the sessions or packages you sell them, and FitDesk charges them nothing to book, follow workouts, log progress or message you. The FitDesk fee is on the trainer side, and only on Stripe card payments. Stripe's own fees still apply.

Can I move my clients from PT Distinction to FitDesk?

Yes. Sign up, connect your own Stripe account, import your client list from a CSV file or paste it in, and invite clients by email or with a share link. Then rebuild your templates once and assign them. Keep PT Distinction running until you are happy with FitDesk, and check how to cancel first.

Create your FitDesk account

No card. No client cap.

Create your FitDesk account

Comparing options? Read our personal trainer software UK buyers guide.