Compare

TrueCoach alternative for UK personal trainers

Last updated: . Competitor prices were checked on 29 September 2026. Sources are listed under the table.

TrueCoach is a coaching platform focused on programming and client tracking, and it may be a good fit for you. This page compares it with FitDesk, a platform for personal trainers with no monthly fee, and says plainly where each one is stronger.

Short answer. No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee. TrueCoach has no free plan, offers a 14 day trial, and lists plans from $26.34 a month on annual billing ($29.98 on monthly billing) for up to 5 active clients. Create your FitDesk account.

TrueCoach and FitDesk at a glance

  • Free option

    FitDesk
    No monthly fee, no client cap
    TrueCoach
    No free plan. 14 day free trial, no card required
  • Paid plans

    FitDesk
    No monthly plans
    TrueCoach
    Starter $26.34 a month on annual billing ($29.98 on monthly billing), up to 5 active clients. Standard $57.99 annual ($69.98 monthly), up to 20. Pro $136.99 annual ($164.98 monthly), up to 50. Its page says annual billing works out as 1 to 2 months free
  • Client limit

    FitDesk
    No cap
    TrueCoach
    5, 20 or 50 active clients by plan. Over 50, it asks you to email for pricing
  • Card payments

    FitDesk
    No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee.
    TrueCoach
    "Free Automated Payments" through Stripe on every plan. Its page says there are no extra fees
  • Cash payments

    FitDesk
    Recorded in the app, no FitDesk fee
    TrueCoach
    Not stated on the pricing page
  • Branded app

    FitDesk
    Your logo and colours inside FitDesk. No app store listing under your own name today
    TrueCoach
    Custom branded fitness app on Standard and Pro
  • Nutrition and habits

    FitDesk
    Habit tracking in FitDesk. No calorie or food diary tracking
    TrueCoach
    MyFitnessPal nutrition tracking and custom habit tracking on every plan
  • Native mobile app

    FitDesk
    Not available yet. FitDesk is a web app that works in any mobile browser
    TrueCoach
    iOS, Android and web apps
  • Integrations

    FitDesk
    Not stated
    TrueCoach
    Wearables (Apple, Garmin, WHOOP and others) on Standard and Pro. Zapier automations (on higher plans)

Source: truecoach.co/pricing, checked 29 September 2026, prices in US dollars as listed. Plans and offers change often, so check their site before you decide. FitDesk is not affiliated with TrueCoach. Stripe's own fees still apply to card payments on every platform.

What TrueCoach does well

  • Focused coaching tools. Every plan lists a program and workout builder, a client management tracker, a dashboard, a 3,000+ video exercise library and in app messaging.
  • Wearables and automation. Standard and Pro add data from Apple, Garmin, WHOOP and other wearables, and higher plans list Zapier automations.
  • Public coach profiles. Its page lists public profiles to showcase your services and accept new client leads.
  • Money back guarantee on annual plans. It lists a 90 day money back guarantee for first time annual subscribers.

If you coach mainly online, want wearable data or custom branded native apps, TrueCoach is worth a trial.

Where FitDesk is different

1. No monthly fee and no client cap. TrueCoach prices by active clients (5, 20 or 50). FitDesk has no plans and no cap, so a bigger client list does not change what you pay.

2. No monthly fee to start. TrueCoach has a 14 day trial and no free plan. FitDesk needs no card to sign up.

3. Designed for session bookings and packages. Clients book from your availability, and package credits are used when a session is booked. Credits are returned for cancellations made before the trainer's cancellation notice period.

4. Cash payments stay free. Record them in FitDesk and there is no FitDesk fee on them.

TrueCoach pricing in 2026

Prices as listed by TrueCoach on 29 September 2026, in US dollars, before any payment costs. The first figure is annual billing; monthly billing is higher and shown in brackets:

  • Up to 5 active clients: Starter, $26.34 a month on annual billing ($29.98 on monthly billing).
  • Up to 20: Standard, $57.99 a month on annual billing ($69.98 monthly).
  • Up to 50: Pro, $136.99 a month on annual billing ($164.98 monthly).

No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee.

Who should pick which

FitDesk may suit you if you run in person or hybrid sessions, want bookings, packages and payments in one place, and would rather not pay per active client.

TrueCoach may suit you if you coach mainly online, want native iOS and Android apps, wearable data, Zapier or custom branded apps, and are happy to pay a monthly plan.

Try both. TrueCoach has a 14 day trial and FitDesk needs no card. Put three real clients through each.

How to switch from TrueCoach to FitDesk

  1. Create your free account. Set up your trainer account. No card needed.
  2. Set your availability. Add your working hours and session types so clients can book.
  3. Connect Stripe. Connect your own Stripe account so card payments go to your bank.
  4. Bring your clients over. Import your client list from a CSV file or paste it in, then invite clients by email or with a share link. They keep training while you switch.
  5. Rebuild your programs. Set up templates once and assign them in two clicks.

Keep your TrueCoach account until you are happy, and check its terms for how to cancel.

Other TrueCoach alternatives

PT Distinction alternative

Everfit alternative

Trainerize alternative

My PT Hub alternative

PT software UK compared

Frequently asked questions

Is FitDesk a good alternative to TrueCoach?

FitDesk suits independent trainers who want bookings, workout programming, progress tracking, messaging and card payments without a monthly subscription. TrueCoach lists iOS and Android apps, wearable data and a 3,000+ video exercise library, so choose based on which of those you need today.

How much does FitDesk cost compared with TrueCoach?

No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee. TrueCoach lists plans from $26.34 a month on annual billing, or $29.98 on monthly billing (checked 29 September 2026).

Does TrueCoach have a free plan?

No. TrueCoach lists a 14 day free trial with no card required, then paid plans by number of active clients, starting at $26.34 a month on annual billing ($29.98 on monthly billing) for up to 5. Its pricing page says annual billing works out as one to two months free.

Does TrueCoach charge extra fees for payments?

Its pricing page lists free automated payments through Stripe and answers "Are there any extra fees?" with no. Stripe's own card fees still apply on any platform. Check TrueCoach's current terms before you decide, as plans and fees can change.

Can clients use FitDesk on their phones?

Yes, in any mobile browser on iOS or Android, with no download. A native FitDesk app for the App Store and Google Play is not available yet. TrueCoach lists iOS and Android apps, so choose it if native apps matter to you today.

Do my clients pay to use FitDesk?

Client accounts are free. Clients only pay you for the sessions or packages you sell them, and FitDesk charges them nothing to book, follow workouts, log progress or message you. The FitDesk fee is on the trainer side, and only on Stripe card payments. Stripe's own fees still apply.

Can I move my clients from TrueCoach to FitDesk?

Yes. Sign up, connect your own Stripe account, import your client list from a CSV file or paste it in, and invite clients by email or with a share link. Then rebuild your programs as templates and assign them. Keep TrueCoach running until you are happy with FitDesk, and check its terms for how to cancel.

Create your FitDesk account

No card. No client cap.

Create your FitDesk account

Comparing options? Read our personal trainer software UK buyers guide.