Compare

Trainerize alternative for UK personal trainers

Last updated: . Competitor prices were checked on 29 September 2026. Sources are listed under the table.

Trainerize is a coaching app for personal trainers, and it may suit you well. This page is for UK PTs comparing it with FitDesk, a platform for personal trainers with no monthly fee. We say where Trainerize is ahead of us as well as where FitDesk is different.

Short answer. FitDesk has no monthly fee and no client cap. The only FitDesk charge is 0.7% on Stripe card payments (minimum 1p). Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash payments have no FitDesk fee. Trainerize has a free plan for one client and paid plans from $9 a month on annual billing ($10 on monthly billing). Create your FitDesk account or read on.

Trainerize and FitDesk at a glance

  • Subscription currency

    FitDesk
    No subscription to pay
    Trainerize
    US dollars, as listed
  • Free option

    FitDesk
    No monthly fee, no client cap
    Trainerize
    Free plan for 1 coaching client, no card. Also a 30 day free trial with unlimited clients, then the account returns to the free plan
  • Paid plans

    FitDesk
    No monthly plans
    Trainerize
    Grow from $9 a month on annual billing ($10 on monthly billing), 2 clients. Pro from $23 a month on annual billing ($25 on monthly billing) for 5 clients, rising with client numbers. Studio Plus from $248 a month on annual billing ($275 on monthly billing)
  • Card payments

    FitDesk
    0.7% on Stripe card payments (minimum 1p). Stripe's own fees still apply
    Trainerize
    Stripe Integrated Payments add-on, $10 a month. The Business add-on, $25 a month, also lists payments. Its pricing page does not state a per-payment fee
  • Cash payments

    FitDesk
    Recorded in the app, no FitDesk fee
    Trainerize
    Not stated on the pricing page
  • Branded app

    FitDesk
    Your logo and colours inside FitDesk. No app-store listing under your own name today
    Trainerize
    Pro custom branded app, $169 one-time. Studio and Enterprise apps are included in those plans
  • AI

    FitDesk
    AI assistant included
    Trainerize
    AI Workout Builder from the Grow plan
  • Other add-ons

    FitDesk
    None to buy
    Trainerize
    Advanced Nutrition Coaching $20 a month (Grow, Pro 5, Pro 15) or $45 (larger Pro plans). Video coaching $10 a month. Business add-on $25 a month
  • Native mobile app

    FitDesk
    Not available yet. FitDesk is a web app that works in any mobile browser
    Trainerize
    iOS and Android apps, including on the free plan

FitDesk is made by Pickle Labs Collective Ltd, Tewkesbury, UK. Sources: trainerize.com/pricing, checked 29 September 2026, and resources.trainerize.com/pricing-changes-2026 (Trainerize announced pricing updates from 16 March 2026 and gives no amounts on that page). Prices are in US dollars as listed. Plans and offers change often, so check their site before you decide. FitDesk is not affiliated with Trainerize. Stripe's own fees still apply to card payments on every platform.

Trainerize lists its prices in US dollars, so your card provider may add a foreign currency fee to each payment. FitDesk has no subscription, so there is no monthly charge in any currency.

What Trainerize does well

  • Native apps and a free way in. Its free plan includes an iOS and Android app, workout programs, basic messaging and habit coaching for one client, and its trial covers unlimited clients for 30 days.
  • Room to grow. Its plans run from a couple of clients up to hundreds, with Studio plans for larger businesses and three levels of branded app.
  • A menu of add-ons. Nutrition coaching, video coaching and business tools such as scheduling and referrals can be switched on when you need them.

If you want a native app for your clients today, or you are building a larger coaching business, Trainerize deserves a proper look.

Where FitDesk is different

1. No monthly fee. Bookings, clients, workouts and messaging cost nothing to run, at any client count. Card payments through FitDesk carry a 0.7% fee with a 1p minimum. Stripe's own fees still apply.

2. Payments without an add-on. On Trainerize's Grow and Pro plans, taking payments through the app is an add-on. On FitDesk it is part of the platform, and the fee only applies when a client pays by card. Stripe's own fees still apply.

3. Cash payments stay free. Record them in FitDesk and there is no FitDesk fee on them.

4. Programming that stays in sync. Edit a template once and every assigned client plan updates. Sets, reps, weights, personal bests, measurements and photos are all tracked.

5. Packages that add up. Session credits are used when a session is booked and returned if it is cancelled.

How the two payment models differ

A percentage fee and a flat monthly add-on cross over at some volume, so work it out for your own business. Trainerize's add-on is a flat monthly amount in US dollars and FitDesk's fee is a percentage of each card payment, so which costs less depends on how much you take by card.

  • FitDesk's 0.7% is £7.00 on £1,000 of card payments and £35.00 on £5,000. Stripe's own fees still apply.
  • Trainerize lists its Stripe Integrated Payments add-on at $10 a month, plus Stripe's own fees on card payments. We have not converted the dollar figure.
  • If most of your income comes in cash, FitDesk's fee on those payments is £0.

Stripe lists 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards (stripe.com/gb/pricing, checked 2 October 2026). Your rate may differ.

Who should pick which

FitDesk may suit you if you are an independent PT who wants bookings, packages, payments and tracking in one place, does not need a native app yet, and would rather not pay a monthly subscription.

Trainerize may suit you if you want native iOS and Android apps now, your own branded app, or a larger business with add-ons for nutrition and video.

Try both. Trainerize has a free plan and a 30 day trial, and FitDesk needs no card. Put three real clients through each for two weeks and see which one removes admin.

How to switch from Trainerize to FitDesk

  1. Create your free account. Set up your trainer account. No card needed.
  2. Set your availability. Add your working hours and session types so clients can book.
  3. Connect Stripe. Connect your own Stripe account so card payments go to your bank.
  4. Bring your clients over. Import your client list from a CSV file or paste it in, then invite clients by email or with a share link. They keep training while you switch.
  5. Rebuild your plans. Set up templates once and assign them in two clicks.

Keep your Trainerize account until you are happy, and check your own agreement for notice periods before you cancel.

Frequently asked questions

What does FitDesk cost with 20, 30 or 50 clients?

The same at any client count, because there is no client cap. No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee. So your FitDesk fee depends on what clients pay by card, not on how many clients you have.

Card payments through FitDesk in a monthFitDesk fee (0.7%)
£1,000£7.00, plus Stripe's own fees
£3,000£21.00, plus Stripe's own fees
£5,000£35.00, plus Stripe's own fees

Is FitDesk a good alternative to Trainerize?

FitDesk suits independent trainers who want bookings, workout programming, progress tracking, messaging and card payments without a monthly subscription. Trainerize is ahead on native iOS and Android apps and on optional extras such as nutrition and video coaching, so choose based on which of those you need today.

How much does FitDesk cost compared with Trainerize?

FitDesk charges 0.7% on Stripe card payments (minimum 1p per card payment). Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash payments have no FitDesk fee, and there is no monthly fee. Trainerize lists paid plans from $9 a month on annual billing, or $10 on monthly billing (checked 29 September 2026).

Does Trainerize have a free plan?

Yes. Trainerize lists a permanent free plan for one coaching client with no card required, plus a 30 day free trial for unlimited clients. After the trial the account returns to the free plan. Extra clients need a paid plan, which starts at $9 a month on annual billing ($10 on monthly billing), as listed on its pricing page.

Can clients use FitDesk on their phones?

Yes, in any mobile browser on iOS or Android, with no download. A native FitDesk app for the App Store and Google Play is not available yet. If you need a native app today, Trainerize offers iOS and Android apps, including on its free plan.

Can I move my clients from Trainerize to FitDesk?

Yes. Sign up, connect your own Stripe account, import your client list from a CSV file or paste it in, and invite clients by email or with a share link. Then rebuild your templates once and assign them. Keep Trainerize running until you are happy with FitDesk, and check your agreement for notice periods before you cancel.

Does Trainerize charge extra to take payments?

Its pricing page lists a Stripe Integrated Payments add-on at $10 a month, and a Business add-on at $25 a month that also lists payments. It does not state a per-payment fee on that page. Stripe's own card fees apply on any platform, so check Trainerize's current terms.

Do my clients pay to use FitDesk?

Client accounts are free. Clients only pay you for the sessions or packages you sell them, and FitDesk charges them nothing to book, follow workouts, log progress or message you. The FitDesk fee is on the trainer side, and only on Stripe card payments. Stripe's own fees still apply.

Will my programming and progress data still be detailed?

Yes. Reusable templates, per-set logging, personal bests, body measurements and progress photos are all included, and template edits sync to every assigned client automatically. Clients see their own progress and a trophy room of personal bests, and you can message them in the app with attachments.

Create your FitDesk account

No card. No client cap.

Create your FitDesk account

Comparing options? Read our personal trainer software UK buyers guide.