Compare

Free personal trainer software compared

Last updated: . FitDesk is our product, so we say so up front. Competitor free plan figures below come from each product's own public pricing or plan pages, checked on 2 November 2026. Where a figure was not on those pages, we write "not stated".

Independent UK personal trainers often start on a free plan to run bookings, clients and workouts without a monthly software bill. Free plans differ on client caps, what you pay when a client pays by card, and which tools sit behind a paid upgrade. This page compares the free plans of Everfit, QuickCoach, FitPros and Trainerize with FitDesk, using only limits each vendor states in public.

FitDesk is a free platform for UK personal trainers. It has no client cap. You name your own session types, and you can run one to one or group sessions. Email reminders go out about 24 hours and about 1 hour before a session. You set your own cancellation window (24 hours by default). Payments are cash and Stripe card only. The Android app is on Google Play and the iPhone app is on the way. FitDesk plans to stay free for trainers.

Create your FitDesk account

No card is needed to sign up.

Free plan comparison at a glance

Competitor prices are published in US dollars; pounds shown are approximate conversions from those list prices. FitDesk has no monthly fee (£0). "Not stated" means we could not find the figure on the page we read on the checked date, not that the product has no figure.

ToolMonthly price on free planClient capPayment fees on free planNotable free plan limitsSource and checked date
FitDesk£0. No monthly fee.No client capSee fee line in the FitDesk section below (stated once on this page)Web app, Android app on Google Play, iPhone app on the way, cash and Stripe card onlyhttps://fitdesk.co.uk and FitDesk product facts, checked 2 Nov 2026
Everfit (Starter)£0 ($0)Up to 5 clientsPayments & Packages not on Starter. Add on listed from about £7 ($9) per month, or about £6 ($8) per month, billed annually. Help centre lists UK card processing at 2% + £0.20 domestic and 3.5% + £0.20 international when Payments is enabledStarter lists workout builder, exercise library, metrics, tasks, inbox messaging, client and coach apps. Booking & scheduling, habit coaching, forms, custom branding and team members are listed under Pro, not Starterhttps://everfit.io/pricing/ and https://help.everfit.io/en/articles/5684968-processing-fees-for-payments, checked 2 Nov 2026
QuickCoach (Free)£0 ($0)Up to 20 active clientsPlatform fee 10% of each Client Billing payment on Free, plus Stripe's fee. Client Billing is optionalFull programming and workout builder, unlimited programs and tasks, client mobile and web apps. Roster status filter and inactive client history are Pro. Branding, nutrition, push notifications and Training Insights are Pro. Workspace locks if you go over 20 active clients until you upgradehttps://www.quickcoach.fit/ and https://help.quickcoach.fit/billing-account/plans-and-pricing-overview.html, checked 2 Nov 2026
FitPros.io (Free)£0 ($0)Unlimited clients (stated on Free plan)FitPros states its free plan fee differently across its pages; check its pricing page (https://fitpros.io/)Free plan card lists workout program builder, 1,000+ exercise library, branded client apps (iOS, Android, Web), client management, website builder, forms and habit tracking. Pro Tools (from about £22 ($29) per month, billed annually, or about £29 ($39) per month, billed monthly) lists reports, bulk editing, automations and custom brandinghttps://fitpros.io/, checked 2 Nov 2026
Trainerize (Basic / Free)£0 ($0)1 coaching client (FAQ on pricing page)Stripe Integrated Payments not available on the Free plan. Add on listed at about £8 ($10) per month on Grow and Pro (included on Studio)Free plan lists mobile app for iOS and Android, workout programs and delivery, basic in app messaging, habit and lifestyle coaching. FAQ also lists basic nutrition tracking. Business, Advanced Nutrition Coaching, Video Coaching and Stripe Integrated Payments add ons are not available on Freehttps://www.trainerize.com/pricing/, checked 2 Nov 2026

Competitor prices are published in US dollars. Pounds shown are approximate, converted at £0.7526 per $1 on 28 October 2026, and may not include VAT or other taxes. Check the provider's site for current pricing.

Checked 2 Nov 2026.

Each free plan in more detail

FitDesk

FitDesk is built for independent UK personal trainers. The platform has no monthly fee and no client cap. You publish your availability and name your own session types, for one to one or group sessions. Clients book from your scheduler. Email reminders go out about 24 hours and about 1 hour before a session. You set your own cancellation window (24 hours by default). Payments are cash and Stripe card only. The Android app is on Google Play and the iPhone app is on the way. The web app works in a mobile browser too. FitDesk plans to stay free.

No monthly fee. 0.7% on Stripe card payments through FitDesk, minimum 1p per card payment. Stripe's own fees still apply. Cash has no FitDesk fee.

Everfit Starter

Everfit's Starter plan is listed at £0 ($0) for up to 5 clients on its pricing page. Starter includes the workout builder, exercise library, metrics and progress photos, tasks, inbox messaging, and client and coach apps. Booking and scheduling, habit coaching, forms, custom branding and team members are shown under Pro. Payments & Packages is a separate add on from about £7 ($9) per month (about £6 ($8) per month, billed annually). When Payments is enabled, Everfit's help centre lists UK processing at 2% + £0.20 for domestic cards and 3.5% + £0.20 for international cards.

QuickCoach Free

QuickCoach Free is listed at £0 ($0) for up to 20 active clients, with no time limit stated on its plan pages. Free includes programming, a workout builder, unlimited programs and tasks, and client mobile and web apps. Client Billing is optional: on Free the platform fee is 10% of each payment plus Stripe's fee. Branding, nutrition, push notifications, Training Insights, the roster status filter and inactive client history are listed on Pro. If active clients go over 20, QuickCoach states the workspace locks until you upgrade to Pro.

FitPros.io Free

FitPros.io lists a Free plan at £0 ($0) with unlimited clients, a workout program builder, a 1,000+ exercise library, branded client apps, client management, a website builder, forms and habit tracking. Pro Tools is optional (from about £22 ($29) per month, billed annually, or about £29 ($39) per month, billed monthly) for reports, bulk editing, automations and custom branding. FitPros states its free plan fee differently across its pages; check its pricing page (https://fitpros.io/).

Trainerize Basic (Free)

Trainerize's pricing page lists a Basic plan at Free and describes coaching your first client. The FAQ on that page states a permanent free plan for one coaching client, with no credit card required. Free plan features listed include the mobile app for iOS and Android, workout programs and delivery, basic in app messaging, and habit and lifestyle coaching (FAQ also mentions basic nutrition tracking). Stripe Integrated Payments is not available on the Free plan; the add on is listed at about £8 ($10) per month on Grow and Pro plans.

How to choose a free plan

  1. Count the clients you already coach. A free plan capped at 1, 5 or 20 clients may not cover a full UK roster; a plan with no client cap leaves room to grow without an upgrade for headcount alone.
  2. Separate the monthly software price from what you pay when a client pays by card. Some free plans take a percentage on each card payment. Others keep payments behind a paid add on. Stripe's own fees still apply wherever Stripe is used.
  3. Check what sits outside the free plan. Booking, branding, nutrition tools and payment processing are often listed on a paid tier even when the base plan is free.
  4. Decide whether you need a native App Store app today. Some free plans include native apps. FitDesk's Android app is on Google Play and the iPhone app is on the way.
  5. Try two tools with a small set of real clients for a couple of weeks, then keep the one that cuts diary and payment admin rather than adding it.

Frequently asked questions

Which free personal trainer software plans have no client cap?

On the pages checked on 2 November 2026, FitDesk states no client cap, and FitPros.io Free states unlimited clients. Everfit Starter caps at 5 clients. QuickCoach Free caps at 20 active clients. Trainerize Free is one coaching client per its pricing FAQ.

Do free PT software plans charge fees on card payments?

Often yes, in different ways. FitDesk states its fee only on Stripe card payments (see the FitDesk section above). QuickCoach Free lists a 10% platform fee on Client Billing plus Stripe. Everfit keeps Payments & Packages as a paid add on with listed processing rates. Trainerize Free does not include Stripe Integrated Payments. FitPros states its free plan fee differently across its pages; check its pricing page (https://fitpros.io/).

Is FitDesk free for UK personal trainers?

FitDesk has no monthly fee and no client cap. No card is needed to sign up. FitDesk plans to stay free. The only FitDesk charge is on Stripe card payments; cash has no FitDesk fee. See the fee line in the FitDesk section above.

Can I take cash as well as card on a free plan?

FitDesk records cash with no FitDesk fee, and takes Stripe card payments under the fee line above. For Everfit, QuickCoach, FitPros and Trainerize, whether cash recording is included on the free plan was not stated on the pricing pages we checked on 2 November 2026.

Do I need a native app for my clients on a free plan?

Not always. A web app works in a mobile browser without a download, which suits many in person UK clients. Trainerize Free and Everfit Starter list native apps. QuickCoach Free lists client mobile and web apps. FitPros.io Free lists branded client apps for iOS, Android and Web. FitDesk is a web app, the Android app is on Google Play and the iPhone app is on the way.

Sources

Checked 2 November 2026 unless noted.

  1. Everfit pricing: https://everfit.io/pricing/
  2. Everfit processing fees: https://help.everfit.io/en/articles/5684968-processing-fees-for-payments
  3. QuickCoach home (Free and Pro): https://www.quickcoach.fit/
  4. QuickCoach plans and pricing overview: https://help.quickcoach.fit/billing-account/plans-and-pricing-overview.html
  5. FitPros.io pricing (Free and Pro Tools): https://fitpros.io/
  6. Trainerize pricing: https://www.trainerize.com/pricing/
  7. FitDesk buyers guide (context): https://fitdesk.co.uk/personal-trainer-software-uk-buyers-guide
  8. FitDesk product facts: FitDesk (https://fitdesk.co.uk) and FitDesk personal trainer booking software (https://fitdesk.co.uk/personal-trainer-booking-software), checked 2 Nov 2026

FitDesk is not affiliated with Everfit, QuickCoach, FitPros.io or Trainerize. Plans change; check each site before you decide.

Try FitDesk

Create an account, connect Stripe and get your first client booked in.

Create your FitDesk account